Just musing... a window into my world!!

Just whatever comes to mind... sometimes a daily diary... sometimes an place to share opinion... sometimes just a place to blab...

Friday, March 10, 2006

"Technically you're squatters"- RENT

Ok- been to see RENT at the theater like 8 times... it is totally awesome... Watched it in the movie theater... and then just bought the DVD... It is amazing to me that after having so much exposure- I am still learning what it is really about...

I can quote you all the lyrics to the songs... but I had never really listened to them... until the other day... In one of the songs, Johann says to Mark, "technically you're squatters"... So I just got it into my head to figure out what an actual squatter is... Yeah sure... it's so obvious I am not from the city... well anyways... in case YOU don't know- it's someone who occupies an abandoned building illegally... and then sets up residence... In NYC, this is very common... well- I did a search on google about the riots that occurred in the 90's in NYC... and I came across a guide... that taught you how to be a squatter...

http://www.habiter-autrement.org/07.squat/02_sq.htm

It teaches how to find a building... what you need to look for to make the building appropriate for living (by very poor standards)... and how to avoid the law...


It turns out, that a squatter can legally aquire a building without paying any money... But there are certain conditions that need to be met...

  • The building must have been publically owned just prior to occupation.
  • The building must be able to meet certain safety standards including health, fire codes and other building codes.
  • You have to be able to prove that you have attempted to repair and maintain the building.

The interesting part about all of this... There are churches and other groups that are willing to give supplies away to help people set up their place...

If you read through the above- it really tells you the standards of living that these people accept... and it is absolutely appalling to me... One of the points that the article makes regarding human waste... is never put toilet paper in the receptacle that you are using- and if you need to have a bowel movement- wrap it in newspaper and throw it out in the garbage... EWWWWW!!
Anyways... I know that there are some people out there who want to live like this... I know that some people don't want to live like this... Whatever their lot in life- a little prayer goes out to them from my heart... I ask that they may each be able to find a little warmth in their hearts and their homes...

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home